Inner Voice

Original Post 2007

An anonymous 14th Century poem speaks of his inner voice as a call from God.

Lord, you called to me,
And I did answer thee
With words slow and sleepy:
“Wait awhile! Wait a little!”
But while and while have no end,
And wait a little is a long road.

I find it comforting to believe that there is a force within me perpetually guiding me toward what is best for me…and for the world. This inner voice is a guide to self-healing, self-knowledge, and fulfillment. As does the poet, I often respond with “Wait awhile! Wait a little!”

The beauty of this voice, this inner teacher, is that it reminds me, at any moment I care to listen, that I am perfect as I am; that I need not struggle, and that by letting go of the image of the person I would like to be and by surrendering to who I am, I can stop acting and I can begin living.

pete

79453209_fef976ac66.jpg

Leave a comment