Gifts

Today I received one of the greatest gifts of my life. My daughter, Colleen, who is 20 years old and a student at Rutgers University, has discovered one of her gifts and let her voice come forth. She has never had a voice lesson and she has never really shared her singing with us. Her older sister, Kate, sent me a link to music which she was quietly publishing on the Internet

left: Collleen right: Kate

How grateful I am to see my child manifest a gift that is hers, uniquely.

My father is undergoing heart surgery today and this is a link to a song that Colleen dedicates to him.

Angel

Here is more of Colleen’s music.

Each of us has a gift or gifts which live deeply within us. More often then not, we don’t honor them. One of my gifts is that of words, and most of my life I ignored it. I didn’t think it was a way to make a living. I didn’t think I was good enough. I minimized its importance.

Whether you can earn a living with your gift, or where you stack up against others doesn’t really matter, does it?

A gift is our deepest self manifesting itself in the world. When we use our gifts we are truly alive and present. It is joyous to do so. It is joyous to witness others.

Let us celebrate the beauty that lives in each of us.

in gratefulness, abundance, and peace,

pete

3 thoughts on “Gifts

  1. I just listened to Colleen and she sings like an angel. So there is another poet in the family.
    Singing is praying twice..Colleens prayer was beautiful. She is beautiful.
    I believe we all have gifts, some public and some private. I try everyday to help people – that is my gift.
    I pray that your Dad is ok.

    Thank you Colleen for sharing your gifts.

Leave a comment